Apply now for the Minister's Medal Honouring Excellence in Health Quality and Safety

The Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care has announced the launch of the second annual Minister's Medal Honouring Excellence in Health Quality and Safety. This annual recognition program aims to honour exceptional work across the health system and showcase successes in cross-sectoral collaboration of health system partners to deliver high-quality, patient-centred care across the continuum.

Tungasuvvingat Inuit FHT wins Innovation in Public Health and Primary Health Care Award

The Tungasuvvingat Inuit Family Health Team (TIFHT) was honoured with this award at a the "Prevent More to Treat Less" conference, jointly sponsored by the Association of Ontario Health Centres and the Association of Local Public Health Agencies, together with a range of partners including AFHTO. Since March 2011 TIFHT has provided Primary Health care services to Ottawa’s Inuit population.


Central Hastings FHT- LEADing Practice award recipient

Central Hastings FHT is a LEADing Practice award recipient as announced by Canada Health Infoway (Infoway), in partnership with Accreditation Canada. Given for their leadership in the advanced use of technology in clinical practice, the award is part of Infoway's pan-Canadian Knowing is Better clinician education campaign developed to generate awareness of the benefits of digital health in Canada.

The Ottawa Hospital Academic FHT receives OCFP Family Practice of the Year award

Congratulations to The Ottawa Hospital Academic FHT for receiving the 2013 Family Practice of the Year Award from the Ontario College of Family Physicians (OCFP)! 2013 Family Practice of the Year – The Ottawa Hospital Academic FHT The Ottawa Hospital Academic Family Health Team (TOHAFHT) is composed of two sister sites (Civic and Riverside) dedicated to quality clinical service, strong health sciences teaching and education leadership, and robust primary care research.

Announcing AFHTO 2013 Bright Lights Award Winners!

The 2nd Annual AFHTO Bright Lights Awards celebrate the leadership and significant progress being made to improve the value delivered by AFHTO members to 3 million patients across Ontario. Winners were announced at the October 22 Awards Dinner at the AFHTO 2013 Conference, attended by over 250 people AFHTO members, senior representatives from government, Health Quality Ontario, and some of the associations who, along with AFHTO, work together as the Ontario Primary Care Council.


Nominations for Minister's Medal open until Sept. 16

Minister’s Medal Honours Excellence in Health Quality and Safety Ontario Minister of Health and Long-Term Care, Deb Matthews, is inviting individuals and organizations to showcase their high-quality patient-centered care programs. This annual medal will recognize excellence in collaboration, sustainability, measurable outcomes and value. Completed applications must be submitted to your LHIN office by 5:00 p.m. on September 16. Successful recipients will be recognized at HQO’s Health Quality Transformation 2013 event on November 21, 2013.